Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Rechercher
Fermer ce champ de recherche.

La SIFEM investit dans la banque Mutual Trust du Bangladesh

 | Portefeuille

La SIFEM accorde un prêt de 8 millions d’USD à la Mutual Trust Bank (MTB), qui sert les micro, petites et moyennes entreprises (MPME) du Bangladesh.

La SIFEM investit dans la banque Mutual Trust du Bangladesh

La SIFEM accorde un prêt de 8 millions d’USD à la Mutual Trust Bank (MTB), qui sert les micro, petites et moyennes entreprises (MPME) du Bangladesh.

Il s’agit du premier investissement de la SIFEM au Bangladesh, un des pays les moins avancés (PMA) et l’un des pays prioritaires de la stratégie suisse de coopération internationale. Le prêt est partiellement alloué à des produits qui soutiennent les MPME dirigées par des femmes, qui sont traditionnellement confrontées à des obstacles importants dans l’accès aux services financiers. Une autre partie du prêt financera des projets d’atténuation du climat dans un pays gravement touché par le risque climatique et s’alignera sur les objectifs et le calendrier du programme d’accès au financement vert pour les entreprises de la DDC, lancé en novembre 2023. Ce programme promeut le financement de projets durables et renforce la capacité des PME à développer et à fournir des solutions à faible émission de carbone et résilientes au changement climatique, améliorant ainsi la performance environnementale.

Grâce à cet investissement, la SIFEM réaffirme son engagement en faveur de la création d’emplois, de l’égalité des sexes et de l’atténuation du changement climatique. Au Bangladesh, les PME représentent 99 % des entreprises et 70 à 80 % des emplois en dehors du secteur agricole. Cet investissement soutiendra les efforts de la banque pour étendre considérablement ses services à ce segment.

Photo : BD Creation est l’un des clients de la Mutual Trust Bank. BD Creation est l’un des principaux fabricants et exportateurs de produits artisanaux du Bangladesh, dont l’objectif est de créer des opportunités d’emploi. Elle se concentre sur les produits éco-compatibles et a été récompensée par le National Export Trophy et le statut CIP pour sa contribution à l’économie et au secteur de l’artisanat.

BD Creation is one of Mutual Trust Bank's customers. BD Creation is a leading handicraft manufacturer and exporter in Bangladesh, with a vision to create job opportunities. It focuses on eco-friendly products and has been recognized with the National Export Trophy and CIP status for its contributions to the economy and the handicrafts sector. 

Link

Dernières nouvelles

La SIFEM a investi 15 millions d’USD dans le SPE Private Equity Fund (SPE PEF III), qui a atteint avec succès son premier closing à 140 millions d’USD. Ceci représente une avancée majeure dans la mission de la SIFEM de stimuler les investissements à impact en Afrique du Nord.

Dernières nouvelles

La SIFEM a investi 15 millions d’USD dans le SPE Private Equity Fund (SPE PEF III), qui a atteint avec succès son premier closing à 140 millions d’USD. Ceci représente une avancée majeure dans la mission de la SIFEM de stimuler les investissements à impact en Afrique du Nord.

Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Search
Close this search box.

SIFEM invests in Bangladesh’s Mutual Trust Bank

 | Portfolio

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

SIFEM invests in Bangladesh’s Mutual Trust Bank

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

This marks SIFEM’s first investment in Bangladesh, a Least Developed Country (LDC) and one of the priority countries in the Swiss International Cooperation Strategy. The loan is partially allocated to products that support women-led MSMEs, which traditionally face significant barriers in accessing financial services. Another portion of the loan will fund climate mitigation projects in a country severely affected by climate risk and align with the objectives and timeline of SDC’s Access to Green Financing for Enterprises program, launched in November 2023. This program promotes green financing and enhances the capacity of SMEs to develop and deliver low-carbon, climate-resilient solutions, thereby improving environmental performance.

Through this investment, SIFEM reaffirms its commitment to job creation, gender equality, and climate change mitigation. In Bangladesh, SMEs represent 99% of businesses and account for 70-80% of employment outside the agricultural sector. This investment will support the bank’s efforts to significantly expand its services to this segment.

Picture: BD Creation is one of Mutual Trust Bank’s customers. BD Creation is a leading handicraft manufacturer and exporter in Bangladesh, with a vision to create job opportunities. It focuses on eco-friendly products and has been recognized with the National Export Trophy and CIP status for its contributions to the economy and the handicrafts sector. 

BD Creation is one of Mutual Trust Bank's customers. BD Creation is a leading handicraft manufacturer and exporter in Bangladesh, with a vision to create job opportunities. It focuses on eco-friendly products and has been recognized with the National Export Trophy and CIP status for its contributions to the economy and the handicrafts sector. 

Link

Latest News

SIFEM has committed USD 15M to the SPE Private Equity Fund (SPE PEF III), which has successfully achieved its first close at USD 140M signifying a major step forward in SIFEM’s mission to drive impactful investments across North Africa.

Latest News

SIFEM has committed USD 15M to the SPE Private Equity Fund (SPE PEF III), which has successfully achieved its first close at USD 140M signifying a major step forward in SIFEM’s mission to drive impactful investments across North Africa.