Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Suche
Close this search box.

SIFEM investiert in die Mutual Trust Bank in Bangladesch

 | Portfolio

Die SIFEM gewährt der Mutual Trust Bank (MTB), die Kleinst-, Klein- und Mittelunternehmen (KKMU) in Bangladesch unterstützt, ein Darlehen von 8 Mio. USD.

SIFEM investiert in die Mutual Trust Bank in Bangladesch

Die SIFEM gewährt der Mutual Trust Bank (MTB), die Kleinst-, Klein- und Mittelunternehmen (KKMU) in Bangladesch unterstützt, ein Darlehen von 8 Mio. USD.

Dies ist die erste Investition von SIFEM in Bangladesch, einem der am wenigsten entwickelten Länder (LDC) und einem der Schwerpunktländer der Schweizer Strategie für internationale Zusammenarbeit. Ein Teil des Darlehens ist für Produkte bestimmt, die von Frauen geführte KKMU unterstützen, die traditionell erhebliche Hindernisse beim Zugang zu Finanzdienstleistungen haben. Ein weiterer Teil des Darlehens dient der Finanzierung von Klimaschutzprojekten in einem Land, das stark von Klimarisiken betroffen ist, und steht im Einklang mit den Zielen und dem Zeitplan des DEZA-Programms „Access to Green Financing for Enterprises“, das im November 2023 gestartet wird. Dieses Programm fördert die Finanzierung nachhaltiger Projekte und stärkt die Fähigkeit von KMU, kohlenstoffarme und klimaresistente Lösungen zu entwickeln und zu liefern und damit die Umweltbilanz zu verbessern.

Mit dieser Investition bekräftigt die SIFEM ihr Engagement für die Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen, die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und die Eindämmung des Klimawandels. In Bangladesch machen KMU 99% der Unternehmen aus und sind für 70-80% der Arbeitsplätze ausserhalb des Agrarsektors verantwortlich. Diese Investition wird die Bemühungen der Bank unterstützen, ihre Dienstleistungen für dieses Segment erheblich auszuweiten.

Bild: BD Creation ist einer der Kunden der Mutual Trust Bank. BD Creation ist ein führender Hersteller und Exporteur von Kunsthandwerk in Bangladesch, dessen Vision es ist, Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen. Das Unternehmen konzentriert sich auf umweltfreundliche Produkte und wurde mit der National Export Trophy und dem CIP-Status für seinen Beitrag zur Wirtschaft und zum Kunsthandwerk ausgezeichnet.

BD Creation is one of Mutual Trust Bank's customers. BD Creation is a leading handicraft manufacturer and exporter in Bangladesh, with a vision to create job opportunities. It focuses on eco-friendly products and has been recognized with the National Export Trophy and CIP status for its contributions to the economy and the handicrafts sector. 

Link

Aktuelle News

Die SIFEM hat 15 Mio. USD für den SPE Private Equity Fund (SPE PEF III) zugesagt, der sein erstes Closing in Höhe von 140 Mio. USD erfolgreich abgeschlossen hat. Dies ist ein wichtiger Schritt in der Arbeit von SIFEM zur Förderung wirkungsvoller Investitionen in Nordafrika.

Aktuelle News

Die SIFEM hat 15 Mio. USD für den SPE Private Equity Fund (SPE PEF III) zugesagt, der sein erstes Closing in Höhe von 140 Mio. USD erfolgreich abgeschlossen hat. Dies ist ein wichtiger Schritt in der Arbeit von SIFEM zur Förderung wirkungsvoller Investitionen in Nordafrika.

Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Search
Close this search box.

SIFEM invests in Bangladesh’s Mutual Trust Bank

 | Portfolio

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

SIFEM invests in Bangladesh’s Mutual Trust Bank

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

This marks SIFEM’s first investment in Bangladesh, a Least Developed Country (LDC) and one of the priority countries in the Swiss International Cooperation Strategy. The loan is partially allocated to products that support women-led MSMEs, which traditionally face significant barriers in accessing financial services. Another portion of the loan will fund climate mitigation projects in a country severely affected by climate risk and align with the objectives and timeline of SDC’s Access to Green Financing for Enterprises program, launched in November 2023. This program promotes green financing and enhances the capacity of SMEs to develop and deliver low-carbon, climate-resilient solutions, thereby improving environmental performance.

Through this investment, SIFEM reaffirms its commitment to job creation, gender equality, and climate change mitigation. In Bangladesh, SMEs represent 99% of businesses and account for 70-80% of employment outside the agricultural sector. This investment will support the bank’s efforts to significantly expand its services to this segment.

Picture: BD Creation is one of Mutual Trust Bank’s customers. BD Creation is a leading handicraft manufacturer and exporter in Bangladesh, with a vision to create job opportunities. It focuses on eco-friendly products and has been recognized with the National Export Trophy and CIP status for its contributions to the economy and the handicrafts sector. 

BD Creation is one of Mutual Trust Bank's customers. BD Creation is a leading handicraft manufacturer and exporter in Bangladesh, with a vision to create job opportunities. It focuses on eco-friendly products and has been recognized with the National Export Trophy and CIP status for its contributions to the economy and the handicrafts sector. 

Link

Latest News

SIFEM has committed USD 15M to the SPE Private Equity Fund (SPE PEF III), which has successfully achieved its first close at USD 140M signifying a major step forward in SIFEM’s mission to drive impactful investments across North Africa.

Latest News

SIFEM has committed USD 15M to the SPE Private Equity Fund (SPE PEF III), which has successfully achieved its first close at USD 140M signifying a major step forward in SIFEM’s mission to drive impactful investments across North Africa.