Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Suche
Close this search box.

BESSERER ZUGANG ZU SAUBERER ENERGIE IN AFRIKA – SIFEM INVESTIERT 10 MILLIONEN USD IN EINEN FONDS FÜR ERNEUERBARE ENERGIEN

Der Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) hat 10 Millionen US-Dollar in den Metier Sustainable Capital Fund II investiert. Der Fonds wird sich auf Klimaschutz und die Anpassung an den Klimawandel konzentrieren, indem er in die Erzeugung erneuerbarer Energien und in die Ressourceneffizienz investiert.

BESSERER ZUGANG ZU SAUBERER ENERGIE IN AFRIKA – SIFEM INVESTIERT 10 MILLIONEN USD IN EINEN FONDS FÜR ERNEUERBARE ENERGIEN

Der Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) hat 10 Millionen US-Dollar in den Metier Sustainable Capital Fund II investiert. Der Fonds wird sich auf Klimaschutz und die Anpassung an den Klimawandel konzentrieren, indem er in die Erzeugung erneuerbarer Energien und in die Ressourceneffizienz investiert.


Er wird dazu beitragen, den Zugang zu bezahlbaren, zuverlässigen und sauberen Energiedienstleistungen zu erweitern und die netzgebundene installierte Kapazität an erneuerbaren Energien in Afrika zu erhöhen, was lokale Unternehmen dazu veranlassen kann, auf erneuerbare Energien umzusteigen und dadurch den Verbrauch fossiler Brennstoffe zu vermeiden. Durch Investitionen in die Ressourceneffizienz kann der Fonds auch einen Beitrag an die Abfallbewirtschaftung, an Materialrecycling, an die Energieerzeugung aus Müll, an die Wasseraufbereitung sowie an an die Begrenzung der Umweltverschmutzung leisten.

Es wird erwartet, dass mindestens 35% der Investitionen in den am wenigsten entwickelten Ländern (LDC) getätigt werden. Geografisch gesehen wird der Fonds voraussichtlich 40% im südlichen, 30% im östlichen und 30% im westlichen Afrika investieren. 

Der regionale Partner von SIFEM bei dieser Investition, Metier Sustainable Capital Private Equity International, ist eine führende Private Equity Firma in Afrika mit drei Jahrzehnten Erfahrung. Das Gesamtvolumen des Fonds beträgt 156 Millionen US-Dollar.

Kontakt: Simon Denoth, Leiter Public Affairs SIFEM, sdenoth@obviam.ch, +41 31 310 09 38


SIFEM Portfolio

Metier Sustainable Capital Private Equity International

Aktuelle News

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Aktuelle News

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Search
Close this search box.

Better access to clean energy in Africa – SIFEM invests USD 10 million in fund focused on renewable energy

 | Portfolio

The Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) has invested USD 10 million in Metier Sustainable Capital Fund II. The Fund will be focused on climate mitigation and adaptation through investments in renewable energy generation as well as in resource efficiency.

Better access to clean energy in Africa – SIFEM invests USD 10 million in fund focused on renewable energy

The Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) has invested USD 10 million in Metier Sustainable Capital Fund II. The Fund will be focused on climate mitigation and adaptation through investments in renewable energy generation as well as in resource efficiency.

It will help expand access to affordable, reliable, and clean energy services, and enhance grid-tied installed renewable energy capacity in Africa, which can incite local companies to switch to renewable energy and thereby avoiding fossil fuel consumption. Through investments in resource efficiency, the Fund may also contribute to waste management, materials recycling, waste to energy, water treatment and limiting pollution.

At least 35% of commitments are expected to be in Least Developed Countries (LDCs), and geographically, the Fund is expected to allocate 40% to Southern Africa, 30% to Eastern Africa, and 30% to Western Africa.

SIFEM’s regional partner in this investment, Metier Sustainable Capital Private Equity International, is a leading private equity firm in Africa with three decades of experience. The overall size of the Fund is USD 156 million.

Contact: Simon Denoth, SIFEM Head of Public Affairs, sdenoth@obviam.ch, +41 31 310 09 38

Metier Sustainable Capital Private Equity International

Link

Latest News

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Latest News

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).