Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Rechercher
Fermer ce champ de recherche.

Les institutions européennes de financement du développement intensifient les mesures communes de riposte contre la Covid avec une initiative de financement de 280 millions EUR : SIFEM contribuera à hauteur de 8 millions EUR

Onze membres de l’association des institutions européennes de financement du développement (EDFI), dont SIFEM est membre, s’associent à la Banque européenne d’investissement (BEI) pour créer une nouvelle initiative de financement consacrée à la lutte contre la Covid-19 au travers de l’instrument European Financing Partners (EFP).

Les institutions européennes de financement du développement intensifient les mesures communes de riposte contre la Covid avec une initiative de financement de 280 millions EUR : SIFEM contribuera à hauteur de 8 millions EUR

Onze membres de l’association des institutions européennes de financement du développement (EDFI), dont SIFEM est membre, s’associent à la Banque européenne d’investissement (BEI) pour créer une nouvelle initiative de financement consacrée à la lutte contre la Covid-19 au travers de l’instrument European Financing Partners (EFP).


L’initiative de 280 millions EUR a été conçue pour accorder un soutien financier aux entreprises et aux institutions financières locales des marchés émergents qui subissent actuellement les répercussions économiques de la pandémie de Covid-19. SIFEM a contribué à hauteur de 8 millions EUR à cette initiative qui commencera à prendre effet dans le courant du mois.

Le mécanisme de co-investissement EFP a été créé en 2003 dans le double but de promouvoir le développement durable du secteur privé et de renforcer la coopération entre la BEI et les institutions européennes de financement du développement (IFD) qui remplissent les conditions voulues. EFP a donné la preuve qu’il est possible d’accorder un soutien financier de façon efficace et rapide, avec de frais administratifs réduits. EFP permet de soutenir les investissements à grande échelle dans les pays en développement tout en réduisant le risque auquel est confrontée chaque IFD individuellement.

« Il est absolument indispensable que nous soutenions les mesures qu’ont adoptées les entreprises privées des pays en développement en riposte à la pandémie de Covid-19. Cette initiative, à laquelle prend part SIFEM, démontre l’importance d’unir nos forces face à des défis sans précédent », a déclaré Jörg Frieden, président de SIFEM.

Contact : Simon Denoth, responsable communication (Obviam), responsable affaires publiques (SIFEM), sdenoth@obviam.ch, +41 31 310 09 38.

Pour plus d’informations :

EDFI

European Financing Partners (EFP)

Dernières nouvelles

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Dernières nouvelles

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Search
Close this search box.

European Development Finance Institutions scaling up joint Covid-response with EUR 280 million financing initiative – SIFEM to contribute EUR 8 million

 | Organisation
Eleven members of EDFI, the Association of European Development Finance Institutions – of which SIFEM is a member – are partnering with the European Investment Bank (EIB) to create a new dedicated Covid-19 financing initiative through the existing European Financing Partners (EFP) scheme.

European Development Finance Institutions scaling up joint Covid-response with EUR 280 million financing initiative – SIFEM to contribute EUR 8 million

Eleven members of EDFI, the Association of European Development Finance Institutions – of which SIFEM is a member – are partnering with the European Investment Bank (EIB) to create a new dedicated Covid-19 financing initiative through the existing European Financing Partners (EFP) scheme.


The EUR 280 million initiative has been designed to provide financial support to businesses and local financial institutions in emerging markets who are currently faced with economic challenges resulting from the Covid-19 pandemic. SIFEM has contributed EUR 8 million to this initiative, which will start operations later this month.

The EFP scheme was launched in 2003 as a co-financing vehicle aimed at promoting sustainable development of the private sector and strengthening co-operation between eligible European Development Finance Institutions (DFIs) and the EIB. EFP has demonstrated how financial support can be provided using an efficient and fast track process with low administrative overheads. EFP enables large-scale investment in developing countries to be supported while reducing the risk faced by individual DFIs.

“It is absolutely crucial that we support the responses to the Covid-19 pandemic by private sector companies in developing countries. This initiative – of which SIFEM is part – demonstrates the importance of joining forces in the face of unprecedent challenges,” said Jörg Frieden, SIFEM Chairman.

Contact: Simon Denoth, Obviam Communication Manager, SIFEM Head of Public Affairs, sdenoth@obviam.ch, +41 31 310 09 38

For more information:

EDFI 

European Financing Partners (EFP) 

Latest News

Geoff Burns reached the maximum term, Margarita Aleksieva joins the Board

Latest News

Geoff Burns reached the maximum term, Margarita Aleksieva joins the Board