Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Rechercher
Fermer ce champ de recherche.

SIFEM soutient la microfinance en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes en s’engageant à investir 10 millions USD dans Locfund Next

Le Fonds d’investissement suisse pour les marchés émergents (SIFEM) s’est engagé à investir 10 millions USD dans Locfund Next. Locfund Next est un fonds ouvert dont l’objectif est de financer en devise locale des institutions de microfinance (IMF) de deuxième et troisième rangs en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes (ALC).

SIFEM soutient la microfinance en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes en s’engageant à investir 10 millions USD dans Locfund Next

Le Fonds d’investissement suisse pour les marchés émergents (SIFEM) s’est engagé à investir 10 millions USD dans Locfund Next. Locfund Next est un fonds ouvert dont l’objectif est de financer en devise locale des institutions de microfinance (IMF) de deuxième et troisième rangs en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes (ALC).


Il s’agit du troisième fonds de dette en devise locale créé par Bolivian Investment Management (BIM), une société d’investissement active dans le secteur de la microfinance et ayant son siège social à La Paz. S’appuyant sur l’expérience acquise avec ses deux fonds précédents, Locfund I (2007) et Locfund II (2013), BMI veut continuer à servir les institutions de microfinance dans la région LAC en leur proposant des prêts en devise locale, d’autres produits financiers et une assistance technique. Locfund Next se concentrera sur l’accompagnement des IMF dans leur transformation numérique, ce qui élargira leur rayon d’action et favorisera par voie de conséquence l’inclusion financière dans la région. L’investissement réalisé par SIFEM est composé d’un prêt (6 millions USD) et de capitaux propres (4 millions USD) et s’est révélé essentiel pour permettre à Locfund Next d’atteindre le montant minimum de capitaux propres requis lors du premier closing. 

L’investissement contribuera aux Objectifs de Développement Durable des Nations Unies (ODD) 9 (bâtir une infrastructure résiliente, promouvoir une industrialisation durable et encourager l’innovation) et 10 (réduire les inégalités), mais permettra également d’autonomiser les femmes et de soutenir l’égalité des sexes (ODD 5) en finançant des entreprises dirigées par des femmes, lesquelles devraient représenter plus de 50 % des bénéficiaires finaux de Locfund Next.

Contact : Simon Denoth, responsable communication (Obviam), responsable affaires publiques (SIFEM), sdenoth@obviam.ch, +41 31 310 09 38.

SIFEM Portfolio

Locfund Next

Dernières nouvelles

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Dernières nouvelles

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Search
Close this search box.

SIFEM is supporting microfinance in Latin America and the Caribbean by committing USD 10m to Locfund Next

 | Portfolio

The Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) has committed USD 10m to Locfund Next. Locfund Next is an open-ended fund with the aim to provide local currency financing to Tier II and Tier III microfinance institutions (MFIs) in Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC).

SIFEM is supporting microfinance in Latin America and the Caribbean by committing USD 10m to Locfund Next

The Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) has committed USD 10m to Locfund Next. Locfund Next is an open-ended fund with the aim to provide local currency financing to Tier II and Tier III microfinance institutions (MFIs) in Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC).

It is the third local currency debt fund by Bolivian Investment Management (BIM), a seasoned microfinance investor headquartered in La Paz. BIM is building on the experience gained in its two previous funds, Locfund I (2007) and Locfund II (2013), and seeks to continue serving microfinance institutions in the LAC region by offering local currency loans, other financial products and technical assistance. Locfund Next will focus on supporting MFIs in their digital transformation which will increase their outreach and therefore foster financial inclusion in the region. SIFEM’s investment consists of a senior loan (USD 6m) and equity (USD 4m) and has been critical for Locfund Next to reach its minimum equity amount at the first closing.

The investment will contribute to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) 9 (building resilient infrastructure, promoting sustainable industrialisation and fostering innovation) and 10 (reducing inequality), but will also empower women and support gender equality (SDG 5) by financing women-led businesses, as more than 50 per cent of Locfund Next’s end beneficiaries are expected to be women.

Locfund Next

Link

Latest News

Geoff Burns reached the maximum term, Margarita Aleksieva joins the Board

Latest News

Geoff Burns reached the maximum term, Margarita Aleksieva joins the Board