Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Rechercher
Fermer ce champ de recherche.

SIFEM investit USD 10 millions dans le dans le fonds Uhuru Growth Fund I pour soutenir des PME en Afrique occidentale

Le Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) est le premier investisseur dans le fonds Uhuru Growth Fund I. L’investissement de SIFEM à hauteur de USD 10 millions vise des entreprises bien établies présentant un historique d’exploitation et des revenus éprouvés, des équipes de direction solides et une position concurrentielle forte sur leurs marchés respectifs

SIFEM investit USD 10 millions dans le dans le fonds Uhuru Growth Fund I pour soutenir des PME en Afrique occidentale

Le Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) est le premier investisseur dans le fonds Uhuru Growth Fund I. L’investissement de SIFEM à hauteur de USD 10 millions vise des entreprises bien établies présentant un historique d’exploitation et des revenus éprouvés, des équipes de direction solides et une position concurrentielle forte sur leurs marchés respectifs


L’objectif général est de faire de ces entreprises des leaders dans leurs secteurs et, dans les cas où une stratégie régionale s’applique, des fleurons régionaux. L’objectif d’impact est de créer des emplois à la fois plus nombreux et de meilleure qualité. Le gestionnaire s’efforcera également de renforcer les capacités et le développement des compétences sur le lieu de travail.

Uhuru Growth Fund I est le premier fonds d’Uhuru Investment Partners, un gestionnaire de fonds émergent en Afrique de l’Ouest fondé par une équipe locale dont les membres ont passé l’essentiel de leur carrière professionnelle dans le private equity. L’équipe dispose de bureaux à Lagos et Abidjan, et cette proximité avec le marché devrait faciliter les transactions et permettre d’apporter une valeur ajoutée aux enterprises du portefeuille. Au Ghana, au Nigeria et en Côte d’Ivoire, qui sont les marchés prioritaires du fonds, les niveaux d’activité du private equity sont très faibles, et il existe une véritable pénurie de capital-développement sur ces marchés.

En plus de SIFEM, le fonds Uhuru Growth Fund I est soutenu par d’autres institutions de financement du développement (IFD) ainsi que par des investisseurs commerciaux tels que Kuramo Capital Management et AfricaGrow, un véhicule commercial alliant des financements privés d’Allianz et des financements publics de KfW d’Allemagne. Les investisseurs du financement du développement sont la Banque européenne d’investissement (BEI), la DEG (Allemagne), la CDC (Grande Bretagne) et le Finnfund (Finlande). Le fonds a atteint 113 millions USD lors de sa première clôture.

Le capital fourni par ces investisseurs devrait soutenir les entreprises locales dans leur sortie de la crise du COVID-19 et peut aider à stimuler le commerce à travers le continent.

Contact : Simon Denoth, responsable affaires publiques de SIFEM, sdenoth@obviam.ch, +41 31 310 09 38.


SIFEM Portfolio

Uhuru Investment Partners 

Dernières nouvelles

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Dernières nouvelles

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Search
Close this search box.

SIFEM commits USD 10 million to Uhuru Growth Fund I to support SMEs in West Africa

 | Portfolio

The Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) has become the first investor to commit to Uhuru Growth Fund I. SIFEM’s USD 10 million will target businesses with an operating history, established revenues, strong management teams and a competitive position in their markets.

SIFEM commits USD 10 million to Uhuru Growth Fund I to support SMEs in West Africa

The Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) has become the first investor to commit to Uhuru Growth Fund I. SIFEM’s USD 10 million will target businesses with an operating history, established revenues, strong management teams and a competitive position in their markets.

The overall objective is to grow these businesses into leading companies within their sectors, and where a regional strategy is involved, into regional champions. The impact target is to create more and better jobs – and the manager will also aim to enhance workplace capacity and skills development.

Uhuru Growth Fund I is the first fund of Uhuru Investment Partners, an emerging manager in West Africa founded by a team with local origins who have spent most of their professional careers in private equity. The team has offices in Lagos and Abidjan, this proximity to market is expected to assist with deal-flow and the ability to add value to portfolio investees. Ghana, Nigeria and Ivory Coast, the fund’s focus countries, have very low levels of private equity activity, and there is a real dearth of growth capital in these markets.

In addition to SIFEM, Uhuru Growth Fund I is backed by other development finance institutions (DFIs) as well as commercial investors such as Kuramo Capital Management and AfricaGrow, a commercial vehicle blending private funding from Allianz and public funding from KfW of Germany. The development finance investors are the European Investment Bank (EIB), DEG (Germany), CDC (United Kingdom), and Finnfund (Finland). The fund has reached USD 113 million at its first close.

The capital provided by these investors should also be able to support local businesses in their recovery from the COVID-19 crisis and can help boost trade across the continent.

Contact: Simon Denoth, SIFEM Head of Public Affairs, sdenoth@obviam.ch, +41 31 310 09 38

Uhuru Investment Partners 

Link

Latest News

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Latest News

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).