Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Suche
Close this search box.

SIFEM investiert 10 Mio. USD in den Uhuru Growth Fund I zur Unterstützung von KMU in Westafrika

Der Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) ist der erste Investor in den Uhuru Growth Fund I. Die Investition von SIFEM in Höhe von USD 10 Millionen zielt auf Unternehmen, die bereits eine Betriebslaufzeit, etablierte Umsätze, starke Management-Teams und eine gefestigte Wettbewerbsposition in ihren Märkten vorweisen können.

SIFEM investiert 10 Mio. USD in den Uhuru Growth Fund I zur Unterstützung von KMU in Westafrika

Der Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) ist der erste Investor in den Uhuru Growth Fund I. Die Investition von SIFEM in Höhe von USD 10 Millionen zielt auf Unternehmen, die bereits eine Betriebslaufzeit, etablierte Umsätze, starke Management-Teams und eine gefestigte Wettbewerbsposition in ihren Märkten vorweisen können.


Das allgemeine Ziel des Fonds ist es, diese Firmen zu führenden Unternehmen in ihren Sektoren, und sofern eine regionale Strategie besteht, zu regionalen Leadern zu machen. Das Impact-Ziel besteht darin, mehr und bessere Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen, aber auch die Kapazitäten und die Entwicklung von Fähigkeiten der Arbeitnehmenden zu verbessern.

Der Uhuru Growth Fund I ist der erste Fonds von Uhuru Investment Partners, einem aufstrebenden Manager in Westafrika. Seine Team-Mitglieder sind lokaler Herkunft und haben den grössten Teil ihrer beruflichen Laufbahn im Bereich Private Equity verbracht. Das Team verfügt über Niederlassungen in Lagos und Abidjan. Diese Nähe zum Markt soll den Dealflow und die Fähigkeit unterstützen, den Portfolio-Unternehmen einen Mehrwert bieten zu können. Ghana, Nigeria und die Elfenbeinküste, die Fokusmärkte des Funds, weisen eine sehr geringe Aktivität im Bereich Private Equity auf. Auch mangelt es in diesen Märkten an Wachstumskapital. 

Neben SIFEM wird der Uhuru Growth Fund I von anderen Entwicklungsfinanzierungsgesellschaften sowie von kommerziellen Investoren wie Kuramo Capital Management und AfricaGrow unterstützt, einem kommerziellen Vehikel, bestehend aus privatem Kapital der Allianz und öffentlichen Mitteln der deutschen KfW. Die Entwicklungsfinanzierungsgesellschaften sind die Europäische Investitionsbank (EIB), DEG (Deutschland), CDC (Grossbritannien) und Finnfund (Finnland). Der Fonds hat beim ersten Zeichnungsschluss USD 113 Mio. erreicht.

Das von diesen Investoren bereitgestellte Kapital soll zudem lokale Unternehmen bei der Erholung nach der COVID-19-Krise unterstützen und kann helfen, den Handel auf dem Kontinent anzukurbeln.

Kontakt: Simon Denoth, SIFEM Head of Public Affairs, sdenoth@obviam.ch, +41 31 310 09 38


SIFEM Portfolio

Uhuru Investment Partners 

Aktuelle News

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Aktuelle News

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Search
Close this search box.

SIFEM commits USD 10 million to Uhuru Growth Fund I to support SMEs in West Africa

 | Portfolio

The Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) has become the first investor to commit to Uhuru Growth Fund I. SIFEM’s USD 10 million will target businesses with an operating history, established revenues, strong management teams and a competitive position in their markets.

SIFEM commits USD 10 million to Uhuru Growth Fund I to support SMEs in West Africa

The Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM) has become the first investor to commit to Uhuru Growth Fund I. SIFEM’s USD 10 million will target businesses with an operating history, established revenues, strong management teams and a competitive position in their markets.

The overall objective is to grow these businesses into leading companies within their sectors, and where a regional strategy is involved, into regional champions. The impact target is to create more and better jobs – and the manager will also aim to enhance workplace capacity and skills development.

Uhuru Growth Fund I is the first fund of Uhuru Investment Partners, an emerging manager in West Africa founded by a team with local origins who have spent most of their professional careers in private equity. The team has offices in Lagos and Abidjan, this proximity to market is expected to assist with deal-flow and the ability to add value to portfolio investees. Ghana, Nigeria and Ivory Coast, the fund’s focus countries, have very low levels of private equity activity, and there is a real dearth of growth capital in these markets.

In addition to SIFEM, Uhuru Growth Fund I is backed by other development finance institutions (DFIs) as well as commercial investors such as Kuramo Capital Management and AfricaGrow, a commercial vehicle blending private funding from Allianz and public funding from KfW of Germany. The development finance investors are the European Investment Bank (EIB), DEG (Germany), CDC (United Kingdom), and Finnfund (Finland). The fund has reached USD 113 million at its first close.

The capital provided by these investors should also be able to support local businesses in their recovery from the COVID-19 crisis and can help boost trade across the continent.

Contact: Simon Denoth, SIFEM Head of Public Affairs, sdenoth@obviam.ch, +41 31 310 09 38

Uhuru Investment Partners 

Link

Latest News

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Latest News

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).