Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Rechercher
Fermer ce champ de recherche.

SIFEM SOUTIEN UN PRODUCTEUR AFRICAIN DE VACCINS CONTRE LE COVID-19

À l’heure actuelle, environ un pour cent seulement des vaccins dont l’Afrique a désespérément besoin sont fabriqués sur le continent. C’est pourquoi un financement d’un montant total de 600 millions d’euros a été mobilisé dans le but de stimuler la production de vaccins en Afrique. Les investisseurs sont l’IFC de la Banque mondiale, Proparco (France), DFC (États-Unis) et DEG (Allemagne). Cette dernière a également obtenu un financement dans le cadre d’une initiative de financement spéciale COVID-19 de European Financing Partners (EFP), qui contribuera à hauteur de 22 millions d’euros.

SIFEM SOUTIEN UN PRODUCTEUR AFRICAIN DE VACCINS CONTRE LE COVID-19

À l’heure actuelle, environ un pour cent seulement des vaccins dont l’Afrique a désespérément besoin sont fabriqués sur le continent. C’est pourquoi un financement d’un montant total de 600 millions d’euros a été mobilisé dans le but de stimuler la production de vaccins en Afrique. Les investisseurs sont l’IFC de la Banque mondiale, Proparco (France), DFC (États-Unis) et DEG (Allemagne). Cette dernière a également obtenu un financement dans le cadre d’une initiative de financement spéciale COVID-19 de European Financing Partners (EFP), qui contribuera à hauteur de 22 millions d’euros.


Par le biais de cette initiative d’EFP, SIFEM s’est associée à d’autres institutions financières de développement (IFD) pour soutenir la société pharmaceutique sud-africaine Aspen Pharmacare Holdings Limited. Les autres IFDs sont BIO (Belgique), Finnfund (Finlande), FMO (Pays-Bas), IFU (Danemark), Norfund (Norvège), OeEB (Autriche) et Swedfund (Suède).

Basé à Durban, en Afrique du Sud, Aspen est présent dans plus de 50 pays à travers le monde et exploite 23 sites de production répartis sur 15 sites. Le groupe emploie environ 9 000 personnes. Aspen a investi dans une installation de production d’injectables stériles entièrement certifiée sur son site existant de Gqeberha (anciennement Port Elizabeth) pour produire son portefeuille d’anesthésiques et d’autres médicaments stériles, notamment des vaccins.

L’Afrique a des taux de vaccination parmi les plus bas du monde. SIFEM se réjouit de pouvoir contribuer à l’intensification de la production de vaccins en Afrique dans le cadre de cette initiative internationale, mais souligne également la nécessité d’accroître les investissements privés dans le secteur pharmaceutique africain à ce stade critique.
 

Contact: Simon Denoth, responable affaires publiques SIFEM, sdenoth@obviam.ch, +41 31 310 09 38


European Financing Partners (EFP) – COVID-19 Window

Dernières nouvelles

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Dernières nouvelles

SIFEM provides a USD 8m loan to Mutual Trust Bank (MTB) which serves Bangladesh’s micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs).

Swiss Investment Fund
for Emerging Markets

Search
Close this search box.

SIFEM supports African producer of COVID-19 vaccines

 | Organisation

At present, only about one per cent of vaccines which are desperately needed in Africa are manufactured on the continent. For this reason, a financing package totalling EUR 600 million has been mobilised with the aim to boost vaccine production in Africa. The investors are the World Bank’s IFC, Proparco (France), DFC (USA), and DEG (Germany). The latter also arranged funding from the existing European Financing Partners (EFP) COVID-19 financing initiative, which will contribute EUR 22 million.

SIFEM supports African producer of COVID-19 vaccines

At present, only about one per cent of vaccines which are desperately needed in Africa are manufactured on the continent. For this reason, a financing package totalling EUR 600 million has been mobilised with the aim to boost vaccine production in Africa. The investors are the World Bank’s IFC, Proparco (France), DFC (USA), and DEG (Germany). The latter also arranged funding from the existing European Financing Partners (EFP) COVID-19 financing initiative, which will contribute EUR 22 million.

Through this EFP initiative, SIFEM has joined forces with sister development finance institutions (DFIs) to support the South African pharmaceutical company Aspen Pharmacare Holdings Limited. The other DFIs which are involved in this funding by EFP include BIO (Belgium), Finnfund (Finland), FMO (Netherlands), IFU (Denmark), Norfund (Norway), OeEB (Austria) and Swedfund (Sweden).

Headquartered in Durban, South Africa, Aspen is active across more than 50 countries worldwide and is operating 23 manufacturing facilities across 15 sites. The group employs approximately 9,000 staff. Aspen has invested in a fully certified sterile injectables facility at its existing site at Gqeberha (formerly known as Port Elizabeth) to produce its anaesthetics portfolio and other sterile medicines, including vaccines.

Africa has some of the lowest vaccination rates in the world. SIFEM is therefore pleased to contribute to the stepping up of vaccine production in Africa as part of this international initiative but would also like to stress the need for more private investment in the African pharmaceutical sector at this critical juncture.
Contact: Simon Denoth, SIFEM Head of Public Affairs, sdenoth@obviam.ch, +41 31 310 09 38

European Financing Partners (EFP) – COVID-19 Window

Latest News

Geoff Burns reached the maximum term, Margarita Aleksieva joins the Board

Latest News

Geoff Burns reached the maximum term, Margarita Aleksieva joins the Board